I Gotta Thank the Lord That You Made Me…

Standard

My beautiful mother and I

Allow me to introduce you to the most fabulous woman I know. She’s my hero, my mentor, my role model, my closest ally, my “ride-or-die”…She’s my momma. And I love this woman more than all the words in the dictionary.

I already know it’s an impossible feat, but for the sake of this post, let me try articulate why luhhh (yes, luhhh) this woman. I don’t know about you, but the older I get, the more I believe that my mother is actually a superhuman angel sent to this earth. Seriously. There’s nothing that this woman can’t do. She was a successful entrepreneur, minister, awesome mother, and devoted wife. It’s mind-blowing that I have had the great fortune to have her as a mom.

Ever since I could remember, my mom has supported me in everything that I ever wanted to do except for that Spring Break trip to Florida with my friends in high school sans chaperones…it was for the best. At 7 years old, when I thought I wanted to teach myself French, she bought me the audio tapes to learn. At 12, 13, and 14 when I wanted to learn how to play the clarinet, the piano, and the guitar…guess what? She went and bought me all the equipment (and lessons at the local conservatory) I needed to rock out in my bedroom. And, at 16, when I was no longer feeling any of it, and I wanted to quit, she let me do that, too (although she begged me to at least stick with the piano…I didn’t…and she still hounds me about that to this day). At 15, 16, and 17 when the travel bug hit me, she (and my father) took my brother on one of the most amazing trips throughout the Caribbean evaarrrrr. At 18, when I wanted to venture out and go to school out of state, she encouraged me to go and constantly made a way for me to stay there. At 23, when I expressed interest in taking a year off to travel throughout Europe after graduation, she enthusiastically encouraged it.

Even when there were many instances we didn’t see eye-to-eye, she has still loved me unconditionally and supported my growth as an individual. I can’t even count the number of prayers she devoted to my brother and I and the Godly example she set before us each and every day of our lives. A spiritual powerhouse and source of strength, it seems that my mother is not phased by anything. It’s like nothing makes this woman break a sweat. Anytime she’s in between a rock and a hard place, she prays about it, gives it over to God, and lets it go…something that I’m learning to do, as well.

My mom has never tried to be “the cool mom,” or even my best friend, but somehow she has managed to accomplish both of those things. The older I get, the more I appreciate the role she plays in my life…a role that is unmatched by anyone else. It’s hard to write this post and not get emotional, simply because of all that we’ve been through as a family. But through it all, with God’s help, we have emerged stronger and more blessed than ever.

I could go on and on about how great my mother is, but I’ll end with the fact that my mom is so awesome that she has other people calling her “Momma,” too. Instead of getting jealous at my “adopted” brothers and sisters, I look at my Mom with pride because she has touched more lives than I can count. I just hope I could be half as great as she is.

“There’s no way I can pay you back
But the plan is to show you that I understand
You are appreciated…”

I LOVE YOU, MOM!

6 responses »

  1. That’s an awesome post! Too often we wait until it is too late to tell our Mothers what they really mean to us. Motherhood is an endless job and often underrated, but absolutely nothing compares to it! I am sure your Mother couldn’t possibly read this without becoming emotional

  2. Pingback: So, I Had a Baby... | The Well-Read Herring

  3. Pingback: A Champ Is Born…

  4. Pingback: I Don't Think I'm Going To Spank My Kids... | The Well-Read Herring

Leave a Reply

