Tangle Teezer!

Standard

The Tangle Teezer

a view of the Teezer's bristles

 

As a natural hair enthusiast, I am always looking for products and tools that make my hair styling experience easier. After watching a few reviews on YouTube and reading about it on a couple of hair blogs I regularly follow, I decided to take the plunge and try out this new tool the natural community seems to be buzzing about – the Tangle Teezer. After talking about it with my roommate, we decided to mosey on over to our nearest Sally’s Beauty Supply store to purchase one.

The Tangle Teezer can be used on wet or dry hair and claims to be ideal for all hair textures. I didn’t have the time to devote to washing AND detangling, so I decided that I would give the product a try on my dry 2-day-old twist-out. I gingerly parted a small section of my hair, starting with the back, and began to brush from the ends to the root. The Teezer’s short, flexible bristles allowed me to detangle my twist-out smoothly and gently. After a couple of passes through the hair, I noticed that very few hairs were left in the brush. Imagine my delight!

The good things about this brush are that it’s inexpensive (I paid about $10), lightweight, fits into both the left and right hands well, and it’s GENTLE!  Those short bristles don’t snag the hair, which is important for women with naturally kinky and curly textures.

Now, some have said that the Tangle Teezer dramatically shortens the amount of time it takes to detangle the hair, but I can’t definitively make that claim for myself, since I was both detangling and styling at the same time. What I can say is that the Tangle Teezer will definitely replace any other combs that I used to detangle.

I plan on washing my hair this weekend to see how the Tangle Teezer fares on my wet hair, and hopefully, I can still make the same glowing review.

Leave a Reply

