Cajun Shrimp and Cucumber & Onion Salad

Standard

Dinner on this night: Cajun Fried Shrimp, Cucumber and Onion Salad (w/lemon basil infused olive oil & red wine vinegar) and Homemade Lemonade.


It figures that my first post would be about food. I decided to conjure up some of my Southern roots to inspire tonight’s meal. My meal preparation was aided by one of the most famous Southern chefs – none other than Paula Deen, ya’ll!

It took longer than the time I usually devote to meals where I merely want to prepare sustenance, but it was well worth it. These babies were delicious!

At first, my plan was to pair these Cajun shrimp with hush puppies, but I decided to go with something light, instead – the cucumber and onion salad. It complemented the entree very well. In that little dish? Ketchup. Keepin’ it classy. I had some tartar sauce, but I eat ketchup with nearly everything, and this was no different. To round out the Southern theme, I decided to make some homemade lemonade, and it was only appropriate that I serve it in my signature Fleur de Lis goblet.

“Laissez les bons temps rouler.” (Let the good times roll…)


Leave a Reply

